top of page

Experts statements of truth

I swear to tell the truth the whole truth and nothing but the truth so help me God is not what the statement of truth says!


The 122nd update to the Practice Direction for the Civil Procedure Rules include a change to the Statement of Truth for Expert Witnesses.

The new statement of truth that should be used is as follows:

"I confirm that I have made clear which facts and matters referred to in this report are within my own knowledge and which are not. Those that are within my own knowledge I confirm to be true. The opinions I have expressed represent my true and complete professional opinions on the matters to which they refer.

I understand that proceedings for contempt of court may be brought against anyone who makes, or causes to be made, a false statement in a document verified by a statement of truth without an honest belief in its truth."

Any reports which are signed now, after 1st October 2020 must contain the new wording.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Claimants win whiplash battle

Today, the Supreme Court handed down its long awaited judgment in the case of Hassam v Rabot [2024] UKSC 11 The Supreme Court upheld the decision of the Court of Appeal as to the correct approach to f

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page